2024 AFC Women's Olympic Qualifying Tournament

The Women's Nations League 2024 AFC Women's Olympic Qualifying Tournament. with certain teams qualifying for the Paris 2024 Olympics. Olympics.com examines which women's football countries will compete in the Olympic Games next summer.

Twelve footballing countries will compete for an Olympic medal in Paris next summer.

Previously, Olympic qualifying was determined by World Cup finishes, but this year saw a shift in the qualification system and a new dependence on UEFA Nations League performances.

It was determined that the top two teams in the 2023/24 UEFA Women's Nations League would advance to Paris 2024, a destiny that has now been sealed for Europe's best sides. A similar qualifying procedure was later developed for the confederations of America, Oceania, Asia, and Africa.

Olympics.com examines the teams that have qualified for the Paris 2024 Olympics, as well as those who have not.

Read also: How Many Rounds In The FA Cup: Explain complete Rounds

Concacaf qualification

The USWNT earned a berth in Paris by winning the CONCACAF W Championship in July 2022. They defeated Canada, the current Olympic gold medalists, 1-0.

Canada did, however, qualify following a two-leg 4-1 triumph over Jamaica in an Olympic Concacaf play-off tournament.

Copa América Femenina qualification

Brazil and Colombia qualified for Paris 2024 two years earlier, when they both reached the Copa América Femenina final in 2022.

Brazil defeated Paraguay 2-0 in the semi-finals to get to the final, while Colombia defeated Argentina 1-0.

Brazil won the tournament with a 2-0 victory in the final, although both teams had already done enough to guarantee their spots in Paris 2024.

Qualification for the 2024 AFC Women's Olympic Qualifying Tournament

2024 AFC Women's Olympic Qualifying Tournament 2024 AFC Women's Olympic Qualifying Tournament

The following countries have confirmed their participation in Paris 2024:

  • France (as host country)
  • USA (Concacaf Women's Champion)
  • Canada (Concacaf play-off champions)
  • Brazil (semifinalists in Copa América Femenina)
  • Colombia (semifinalists in Copa América Femenina)

That leaves seven spaces open, two of which will go to European countries, either the Netherlands, Germany, or Spain, and will be determined in the UEFA Women's Nations League play-off finals in February 2024.

The third and final round of the 2024 AFC Women's Olympic Qualifying Tournament will be held in February 2024 to decide which confederation countries would qualify for the Games. The last four teams are Australia, Japan, Uzbekistan, and North Korea, with just two of them qualifying for Paris 2024.

The 2024 OFC Women's Olympic Qualifying Tournament will be place in February 2024, with just one Olympic spot available. New Zealand, Fiji, Tonga, Samoa, Vanuatu, American Samoa, Papua New Guinea, and the Solomon Islands will compete in a group stage before moving on to the knockout phase. The winning team will be qualified for the 2024 Olympics in Paris.

That leaves just two spots for African countries, which will be chosen during the CAF Women's Olympic qualification tournament in 2024. The third round is scheduled for February 2024, with the fourth and final round following in April 2024.

Ghana, Zambia, Tunisia, Morocco, Cameroon, Nigeria, Tanzania, and South Africa are in contention for qualifying.

Where 2024 AFC Women's Olympic Qualifying Tournament

The competition will be held at seven different locations in France:

  • Paris's Parc des Princes
  • Bordeaux's Stade de Bordeaux
  • Nantes' Stade de la Beaujoire
  • Lyon's Stade de Lyon
  • Marseille's Stade de Marseille
  • Nice's Stade de Nice
  • Saint-Etienne's Geoffroy-Guichard Stadium

Nations that have qualified (5/12)

Brazil, Canada, Colombia, France, and the United States

Positions still available

  • AFC: 2
  • CAF: 2
  • UEFA: 2
  • OFC: 1

Read also: EURO 2024 schedule: Full list of matches: venues, dates, groups?

Qualification tournaments that are still open

Olympic Qualifying Tournament of the OFC When: February 2024 Where: To Be Determined Final Four of the UEFA Women's Nations League A When: February 21-28, 2024 Semi-finals (home team first): Spain vs. Netherlands France vs Germany Except for France, the top two finishers will compete in Paris in 2024. If France advances to the final, the winners of the third-place play-off will also qualify for the Olympics. Olympic Qualifying Tournament for the AFC When: February 24 and 28, 2024 Where: To be determined Australia, Japan, the Democratic People's Republic of Korea, and Uzbekistan are the remaining countries. CAF Olympic Qualification Tournament for Women When: From February 19 until April 9, 2024 Where: To be determined Cameroon, Ghana, Morocco, Nigeria, South Africa, Tanzania, Tunisia, and Zambia are the remaining countries. Only member organizations with a recognized national Olympic committee are eligible to compete in Paris 2024.

Format Paris 2024

The qualification stage was attended by 31 AFC member national teams from the 47 AFC member organizations. The structure is as follows:

First round:

North Korea, Japan, Australia, China PR, and South Korea gained byes to the second round based on their positions in the FIFA Women's World Rankings as of December 9, 2022. The remaining 26 teams participate in a one-round league format in a centralized site, split into five groups of four and two groups of three. The winners of this round's groups progressed to the second round.

Second round:

The twelve teams (five from this round and seven from the previous round) will be divided into three groups of four teams and will participate in a one-round league format in a centralized site. In this round, the three group winners and the best-ranked runners-up will proceed to the third round.

Third round:

Each of the four teams will play two home-and-away matches, with the two eventual winners qualifying for the Women's Olympic Football Tournament.

The twelve teams will be divided into three groups of four. The top two teams from each group, as well as the best two third-placed teams, will advance to the knockout round. Following that, there will be quarter-finals, semi-finals, a third-place play-off, and a final.

Squads and age limitations

Squads will be made up of 18 players. There are no age requirements.


  • 1996: USA Year 2000:
  • Norway 2004:
  • USA 2008: USA
  • 2012: USA
  • Germany 2016
  • 2020 – Canada

Read also: Where will the FIFA Women's World Cup be held in 2027

You Might Be Interested In